Castle Museum is closed for conservation and reconstruction works.
Castle grounds are open as usual.
Cathedral is open Fri-Sat 10-14, Su 11-15. Entrance: donation.
Haapsalu Castle Museum
The Castle in Haapsalu is an architectural pearl dating from the 13th century that used to be the residence of local authorities until the end of the 17th century.
This is the place where Estonia’s most famous ghost – the White Lady – lives.
The main building of the castle hosts a museum that gives an overview of the history of the stronghold and Oesel-Wiek Bishopric, the weaponry used in the medieval and early modern period and the ashlars found in the castle. The most important sights of the museum include the cathedral of the former Oesel-Wiek Bishopric located in the south wing of the castle, which was first mentioned in written records in 1279, and the watchtower now used as a belfry. While in the main fortress, one can enjoy a nice view overlooking Haapsalu and the surrounding sea.
Historical castle grounds have, over the course of time, been turned into park. This is a unique symbiosis of architecture and nature that provides the joy of discovery for both adults and as children. Small visitors can enjoy the playground inspired by the Middle Ages.
Please be aware that climbing on the walls is not allowed.